Vermont Handheld Cell Phone Ban Begins October 1
Beginning October 1, 2014 using a handheld cell phone while driving in Vermont is illegal.
The ban covers all portable devices including music players, laptops and cell phones.
Hands-free use is permitted under law and hands-free means with the use of either hand and outside the immediate proximity of the user’s ear by employing an internal feature – such as a bluetooth, for example – or as long as the device is in a cradle or otherwise securely mounted in the vehicle.
The ban is lifted when the driver needs to communicate with law enforcement or emergency service personnel in emergency situations.
- A person who violates this section commits a traffic violation and shall be subject to a fine of not less than $100.00 and not more than $200.00 for a first violation, and of not less than $250.00 and not more than $500.00 for a second or subsequent violation within any two-year period.
- A person convicted of violating this section while operating within a properly designated work zone in which construction, maintenance, or utility personnel are present shall have two points assessed against his or her driving record for a first conviction and five points assessed for a second or subsequent conviction.
- A person convicted of violating this section outside a work zone in which personnel are present shall not have points assessed against his or her driving record.
Davis & Hodgdon Associates CPAs has been assisting nonprofits, individuals and businesses with tax and accounting services in the Burlington Vermont Metro area for more than 20 years. If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to call 802.878.1963 or email [email protected].