Meet the Supervisor: Margery McCracken

Let’s get to know more about Margery McCracken, CPA and Supervisor at Davis & Hodgdon!

Margery has been with D&H for 7 years, and she is a graduate of Middlebury College and George Washington University. She has 15 years of audit and tax experience, including over ten years in public accounting providing audit services and three years as an Auditor at the U.S. Governmental Accountability Office. Her focus is on non-profit audit services.

Here’s a brief Q&A with Margery so that we could get to know her better:

What are 3 fun facts about yourself?

  1. I raised pigs in my backyard for 4H for two summers when I was in elementary school. We didn’t live on a farm, so we had some understanding neighbors. The first year my pig won a prize at the fair out of sheer luck, and the second year my pig barely grew enough to meet the minimum weight requirements. A buyer finally took pity on me at the fair and bought my pig, but it was overall a very fun experience.
  2. I’ve run two full marathons (the Marine Corps Marathon in Washington, DC and the Richmond marathon in Richmond, VA). The last one I ran was in 2007 and I don’t know if I’ll ever run another one due to the time commitment needed for training, but I hope to run another half-marathon in the next year or two.
  3. My favorite food is cheese. I especially love soft cheeses, so I’ve never turned down brie or camembert. My cheese highlight was attending a cheese fair in Paris while studying abroad in college. There were more cheeses there from around the world than you can imagine. I also highly recommend the documentary, “The Cheese Nun”.

What is your dream travel destination?

I love to explore cities, so my dream destination would probably be a train trip revisiting several European cities that I love – Paris, London, and Venice – and then traveling to the south of France along the Mediterranean, where I’ve never been.

Before working at DH/CLF what was the most interesting job you held?

I was an intern for a Vermont bike touring company in its European headquarters in Beaune, France for three months right after graduating from college. I lived and worked in an old farmhouse in Beaune, which is a small town in the Burgundy region of France, not far from Dijon. I worked with a small staff of about five other people, and we ran the logistics for the European tours. While I worked in the office and wasn’t leading tours, I learned all the behind-the-scenes activity that takes place to make a tour run and was able to run and bike after work every day through the vineyards that surrounded the towns.

If you had to eat one meal, every day for the rest of your life, what would it be?

I love pasta, so I’d probably choose pasta carbonara with a green salad. Pasta carbonara was one of my favorite meals growing up, and I have several cookbooks with recipes for it, so I’ve been trying them all out to find the best variation of the recipe.

What kind of music is on your phone?

I actually don’t have any music on my phone. I’ll stream from Pandora if I want to listen to music on my phone while cooking dinner (usually Mumford & Sons or 90s rock alternative), but I still have most of my music on an old iPod Mini that I take with me when traveling. At some point, I’ll have to transfer my songs to my phone when my iPod finally dies, but until then I’ll stick with my pre-iPhone ways.

Where were you born and raised?

I was born in New Jersey but moved to Lancaster, PA when I was five years old and lived there for the remainder of my childhood. Lancaster has some similarities to Vermont with a lot of farms, but it is also much more developed (the population of Lancaster County is nearly the same as the population of Vermont). There were many Amish farms nearby, so it was a common sight to see Amish buggies on the roads.

Similar Posts